.

.

...sell out? sh*t...I'll be that

2002-07-09 // 12:24 p.m.

=========================================================

I met a pseudo-African the other day...

What's a pseudo-African?

That's a 'round the way negro that hates the fact that he can't trace his roots no futher that Willacoochie, Georgia and so just decides to claim the whole frigging continent of Africa as his hometown.

Can I relate to the frustration? Yeah, kinda. But at the same time, I don't particularly feel like an African. This is the part where "Professor X the Overseer" got a lil miffed with me.

He was on some soap box about how all black people need to come to terms with the fact that we are Africans and if he had his druthers (yes, he actually used the word "druthers") we would all be back in Africa right now as the kings and queens we were meant to be.

Now, correct me if I'm wrong, but in order for you to be royalty, don't you have to rule over somebody? So if that's the case, we can't ALL be decendants of kings and queens, now can we? Sure, Pookie and Ray-Ray an 'em might have a lil African blue blood coursing through their veins. But what about the rest of us? Hell, for all we know, we could have just been a bunch of African slaves that came over here and became African-American slaves!

Add to that the fact that of the 54 countries on the continent of Africa, 28 of 'em still practice that FGM sh*t and you can see why I'm really diggin Brooklyn right now!!!

Anywho...

By the end of the conversation, he was just throughly disgusted with me and decided that I was a sell out...

Yeah... well... we all gotta be sumthin, right?

I'll be that!

xoxo...Cross Over Diva

p.s. did I mention I'm down 17 lbs.? Who's da Man!?... uh I mean 'woman'... that sounds funny though, right?... whatever... y'all know what I mean. ;o)

=================================================

:::older ::: newer ::: notes ::: archive ::: keirah ::: stalkers :::

=================================================

::::: LAST 5 ENTRIES :::::

Hello again... - 06.20.2012

May 18th of 08 - 11.29.2008

May 17th of 08 - 11.29.2008

May 14th of 08 - 11.29.2008

May 5th to May 12th of 08 - 11.29.2008

~